The Ultimate Gluten Free Christmas Chocolate Guide 2021

21st October 2020
Blog post

Here’s my EASY GUIDE to Gluten Free Christmas Chocolates!!

First up, have a read of the big changes from 2020 to 2021 (under the blue heading below) and then you can scroll through the following 3 sections:

  1. Gluten free, contains dairy
  2. Gluten and dairy free
  3. Not gluten free!!!! The ones to avoid

I’ve kept the supermarket own brand products out of this – they’re going somewhere else!! Watch this space 😉

As always, please check the labels for yourself just incase anything has changed



*THE BIG CHANGES FROM 2020 TO 2021*

Chocs are no longer gluten free:

  • Cadbury Tree Decs are now a may contain
  • Thorntons Characters are a may contain

New products that are gluten free:

  • Cadbury Dairy Milk Classics Mixed Chocolate Chunks Pouch
  • Grand Ferrero Rocher Milk & Dark
  • Terrys Chocolate Orange Milk Crispy Oranges 
  • Cadbury Dairy Milk Winter Orange 

These are the ones I want to flag as its soooooo easy to make a mistake:

  • Maltester vs Kit Kat – both in red bags and similar figures so its easy to pick up the wrong thing
  • Kinder Joy eggs are not gluten free but the Kinder Suprise ones are. They look almost identical.


(1) GLUTEN FREE Christmas Chocolates (not dairy free)

Cadbury Roses – all safe!

Cadbury Hero’s – all safe EXCEPT the dinky decker. They have confirmed the dinky deckers are made on a different production line so there’s no CC risk

Quality street – all safe excluding the John Lewis special edition “Crispy Truffle Bite”, although I’m not sure if they’re even doing it this year!!

Cadbury Dairy Milk Classics Mixed Chocolate Chunks Pouch

Cadbury Dairy Milk Classics Mixed Chocolate Chunks Pouch 350g

Terrys Chocolate Orange Milk Crispy Oranges 

Terrys Chocolate Orange Milk Crispy Oranges 125G

Lindt – Lots of Lindt chocolates contain barley malt extract. Sometimes this ingredient can be considered gluten free because the level of gluten is less than 20 parts per million (read more about that here) HOWEVER with Lindt, Coeliac UK have not been able to confirm if that’s the case. Lindts own website implies otherwise, but I’d always trust Coeliac UK over anyone!

As a result, if you see barley malt extract in the list of ingredients on a Lindt product, it will not be safe.

These are the safe bits I’ve found:

  • White or strawberries and cream truffle balls
  • Nuxor
  • White Santa

Aero Snowbubbles and Festive Orange

KitKat Santas – be careful!!! they look like the Malteser Reindeers which are NOT gluten free. Also, just wanted to flag that we can have the Kit Kat advent calendar too!!

imageOfProduct id = 570368011

Grand Ferrero Rocher Milk & Dark

Dairy Milk Snowman (plain or orange)

Dairy Milk Snow Balls

Cadbury Chocolate Mini Snowballs Bag | Ocado

Dairy Milk Buttons or Freddo Faces in Festive Tubes

Cadbury Dairy Milk Mixed Chocolate Chunks Tin

Cadbury Diary Milk Mixed Chocolate Chunks Tin 396G

Cadbury Dairy Milk Winter Orange – only this flavour, none of the others

Cadbury Dairy Milk Winter Orange 95G

Dairy Milk Freddo Treasures – haven’t seen these around in 2021to check the ingredients but they were definitely gf in 2020 so keep your eyes peeled

Reeses Tree or Snowman

Toffifee – Christmas Edition

Toffifee Christmas Toffees - ASDA Groceries

Kinder Suprise Figures and Christmas Egg – NOT the Kinder Joy eggs

Matchmakers – Quality Street editions

Toblerone White

Toblerone White 360G

Walnut Whip Selection Box

Baileys Choc Collection Box

Lir Chocolates Baileys Chocolate Selection 280G

Bendicks Mint Collection

Bendicks mint collection

(2) GLUTEN & DAIRY FREE Christmas Chocolate

Moo Chocolates – white and milk

Nomo Caramel Choc Drops Box

Nomo Caramel Filled Chocolate Drops 93G

Rhythm 108 Truffle Selection

Rhythm108 Swiss Vegan Chocolate Truffle Selection 130g | Sainsbury's

Mummy Meagz Hot Chocolate Stirrer

Mummy Meagz Vegan What's O-Stirring Hot Chocolate 45g

Mummy Meagz Bauble – a ball that you put into a mug, pour hot milk over the top and get a hot chocolate!

Mummy Meagz The Bursting Bauble Vegan Hot Chocolate Single

Booja Booja Selection Box – there’s a whole variety of flavours now! Expensive but so good.

Booja Booja Award-Winning Selection 184g

NOT GLUTEN FREE

Thorntons Characters – these were gf last year but “may contain” in 2021 🙁

Celebrations – Cross contamination risk with all of them

Lindt – See the Lindt products in the gluten free section for a bit more info on what is/isnt allowed with Lindt. We can’t have:

  • ANY of the plain milk chocolate items – e.g. tree decs, red truffle balls, bear, reindeer.
  • Any of the truffle ball flavours not listed in the section above (i.e. we can only have strawberries and cream or white choc)
  • The snowflake or snowdrops

Ferrero Rocher – any tin/size, except the giant ones!

Terrys Oranges and Bar – all a “may contain gluten”. Only allowed the ‘Crispy Oranges’ in the first section.

MilkyBar Characters

Galaxy Truffles – may contain gluten

image 1 of Galaxy Milk Chocolate Truffles 206G

Cadbury Winter Chocolate Bars – all “may contain gluten” EXCEPT the orange one

Dairy Milk Chocolate Noisette Jingly Bells & Hazelnut Creme Jingly Bells – “may contain gluten”

Cadbury Oreo Tree Decorations

Cadbury Milk Chocolate & Oreo Tree Decorations 14 Pack 136G

Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate House Kit 

Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate House Kit 900.8g

Cadbury Bauble Tree Decorations (all size packs)

Dairy Milk Hollow Santa – “may contain gluten”

image 1 of Cadbury Dairy Milk Hollow Milk Chocolate Santa 175G

Dairy Milk Little Robins (both flavours) – “May contain gluten”

Malteser Reindeer and Truffles

Nestle Munchies Festive Tube

Nestle Munchies Giant Tube 100G

Aero Bliss Sharing Mix

Any Smarties Product!

Quality Street Intrigue Range – all “may contain gluten”

Guylian – “May contain gluten”

Thomas Fudge Florentines – “May contain gluten”

Tony’s Christmas Chocs – all may contain

Thorntons Classic Sharing Box – “May contain gluten”

Elizabeth Shaw Ginspired Tipples

Kinder Joy Egg – this egg is not gluten free but the “surprise” eggs are

image 1 of Kinder Joy Egg 20G

17 Comments

  • Sharon

    22nd October 2020 at 6:31 am

    Just wanted to thank you for this very comprehensive list. It’s very useful indeed. I’m 20 months in to being coeliac and still very much learning. I feel so deprived at ‘treat time’ so this will really help focussing on what I can have rather than what I can’t for a change.

  • Emily

    22nd October 2020 at 1:56 pm

    I’m a bit confused about the Heroes. According to the Coeliac UK app the creme egg twisted contain barley malt extract. Do you know if they still do or if it is below 20ppm?

    1. Ciara Duffy

      21st December 2020 at 5:53 pm

      Thank you so much for this list, my brother is always complaining that he can’t find gluten free Christmas treats!
      Can I just ask if you know if the Cadbury DarkMilk collection is GF? No gluten listed as allergens in the ingredients?
      Thanks!

      1. jkitchengf

        22nd December 2020 at 8:48 am

        Hey! Aw no problem – glad its helpful!! Good question – not sure I’ve seen it in the shops. Have you got a link to the product and I’ll have a look? If it doesn’t have gluten (or barley etc) listed on the ingredients and no “may contains”, then it’ll be all good 🙂 Happy Christmas x

  • Thomas

    13th November 2020 at 2:42 pm

    Hello, would just like to say a big thank you to you for putting so much time and effort in. Makes a massive difference to me and my little one and I get to watch her enjoy treats like I did as a child ?

  • Judith

    18th November 2020 at 7:50 am

    Thank you, great information, extremely helpful. You are doing a brilliant job, very much appreciated, by my daughter & myself who are fairly recently diagnosed with coeliac. Thank you. Xxx

  • Heidi

    1st December 2020 at 8:19 pm

    Thank you so much for this guide, very helpful for me and my daughter x

  • Barry

    10th December 2020 at 6:45 pm

    The Kit Kat Santas packet you have displayed says on it that it has wafer pieces…I don’t think they are gluten free

    1. jkitchengf

      11th December 2020 at 9:09 am

      Hey! Good news – its gluten free wafer 🙂 As always, check the ingredients on the packet you pick up just incase something has changed but Kit Kat Santas are definitely safe 🙂 x

  • Elizabeth

    10th November 2021 at 11:04 pm

    Am I right in thinking the whole range of Toblerone bars are gluten free not just the white one.

    1. jkitchengf

      16th December 2021 at 8:32 am

      you are correct – only reason I included the white one here was because I thought it was a Christmas think but maybe thats just in my household haha 🙂

  • Loo

    7th December 2021 at 8:02 am

    This is a FABULOUS help. Very nearly gave Cadburys Winter Wonderland to a gluten free Secret Santa person – very relieved to have found your comprehensive list and found some great alternatives that wont actually make her sad or ill!!! Really appreciate your time & trouble – Happy Christmas Jessica! 🙂

    1. jkitchengf

      16th December 2021 at 8:28 am

      no problem – glad its helpful 🙂

  • Faye

    10th December 2021 at 9:18 am

    Hi. Thanks for this, I came across it when trying to find out which of the Roses chocolates were gluten free. You’ve said all of them are, but the ingredient’s listed on a pack bought today (10.12.2021) says they contain wheat and barley (but frustratingly it doesn’t say which do or don’t). Just letting you know in case you need to update ?

    1. jkitchengf

      16th December 2021 at 8:31 am

      Hey! That is very odd – where did you get yours from? Have you got a link to their website? I’ve just checked lots of websites (sainsburys, tesco etc) and none of them mention gluten. They’re also still gf on the Coeliac UK app. Thanks x

  • Shannon

    10th December 2021 at 10:28 am

    I just wanted to let you know that any Reese seasonal holiday shaped items are actually not gluten free. I am the biggest Reese fan ever and I found this out as soon as I discovered I could no longer have gluten. Almost all of Reese’s products are gluten free, just not seasonal such as the Christmas tree, pumpkin shape, etc….

    1. jkitchengf

      16th December 2021 at 8:30 am

      Hey – are you in the US? In the UK, all of the Reeses seasonal bits I can find are gluten free 🙂 If you’ve found something different, I’d love for you to send me a link

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.

Prev Post Next Post
%d bloggers like this: